Osseo Area Schools' Students of Merit

District 279's group of National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students grows.

If academic promise is measured proportionately to national standardized test scores of a class’s cream of the crop, District 279 is in good shape. And as the crops are growing, the cream is spreading.

The 19 Osseo Area Schools seniors that were named 2012 National Merit Semifinalists or Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Program for their performance on the 2010 Preliminary SAT exams make up the largest group of District 279 students to earn National Merit recognition in the past four years.  

National Merit Semifinalists Evan Buskirk and Kathryn Phillips of Maple Grove Senior High, Kaitlin Kasprick of Osseo Senior High, and Jessica Sukharan of Park Center Senior High will now have an opportunity to compete for National Merit Scholarships that will be awarded next spring.

The district had 15 Commended Students, who are among about 34,000 of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT: Sasha Alsmeyer, Blake Burns, Michael Farrelly, Megan Goeke, Derek Hamamoto, Justin Miller, Daniel Nellis, Daniel Rudin, Ryan Saladin, Samantha Sampson, and Amber Stoddad of Maple Grove Senior High; Erin Hagemeyer of Osseo Senior High; and Katherine Lind, Samantha Lind, and Chau-Ly Phan of Park Center Senior High.

Congrats to the students for your achievements, and good luck on your pursuit of National Merit Scholarships!